The 2017/18 Premier League season has almost reached its conclusion, and we all know what that means: end of season awards time. The hot topic, in that respect, is who out of Mohamed Salah and Kevin De Bruyne will win the much coveted PFA Player of the Year award.

PFA Player of the year

Mohamed Salah and Kevin De Bruyne are the hot favorites to land the 2018 PFA Player of the Year award after they were nominated on Saturday.

The red-hot Liverpool forward and Manchester City playmaker lead a six-man to shortlist after the Professional Footballers’ Association announced the nominees on the BBC’s Football Focus programme.

The duo is joined on the shortlist by Tottenham Hotspur’s Harry Kane, De Bruyne’s City teammates Leroy Sane and David Silva and Manchester United’s goalkeeper David De Gea.

Salah or De Bruyne are expected to pick up the gong at the prestigious end of the season awards ceremony, and whoever wins the award will succeed Chelsea’s N’Golo Kante, who was crowned the winner of the 2017 edition of the prize.

Meanwhile, in the young player department, three Man City stars lead the nominations as Ederson, Raheem Sterling, and the aforementioned Leroy Sane made the cut.

Twitter Reactions: