Cristiano Ronaldo lifted his fifth Ballon d’Or earlier this year. The Portuguese has dominated the award in recent years. In 2017 he helped Real Madrid retain the Champions League crown making him a favorite to win it for the third consecutive year. The former Manchester United winger was the last player to lift the award in England in 2008. This year, Liverpool star Mohamed Salah will be a serious challenger if he manages to help his club lift UEFA Champions League. Today, let us dig deep into the history books to discover British players who won the coveted Ballon d’Or award.

6. Michael Owen- Liverpool

View this post on Instagram

Three generations of Anfield goal grabbers!

A post shared by Michael Owen (@themichaelowen) on

In the year 2001, former England striker Michael Owen who was then flying at Liverpool won the famous Ballon d’Or award. He later moved to Real Madrid, Newcastle United, Manchester United and then ended his career at Stoke City. He scored a total of 222 goals in 482 appearances.

5. Denis Law- Manchester United

Former Scotland International Denis Law won the coveted award in 1964. He was a key member of Sir Matt Busby team that dominated the English for a decade. He was a natural forward who scored goals for fun. Only Rooney and Charlton are ahead of him in Manchester United goal charts, he scored 237 goals in 404 appearances for the club.

He also played for rivals Manchester City and Serie A side Torino. He scored 30 goals in 55 appearances for his country Scotland.

4. Bobby Charlton- Manchester United

View this post on Instagram

Me with my trophie

A post shared by Bobby Charlton (@bobby_charlton) on

Manchester United legend Sir Bobby Charlton had won the coveted award two years earlier than George Best (1966). He was a lethal striker during his time at Old Trafford. His goal record of 249 goals was broken by Wayne Rooney in 2017.

Charlton was a much-disciplined player; he could shoot perfectly with both legs making him very unpredictable in the box. He is still at the club as a director. In 2016, a stand was renamed after him and his statue stand outside the Stadium. Charlton was also part of the team that won the 1966 World Cup for England. Rooney broke his national record in 2014.

See Also BLOOD DIVISIONS: Top 5 BROTHERS who play for Different Countries