Connect with us


10 Best Players who NEVER won the FIFA Ballon d’Or

10.Arjen Robben


Dutch international Arjen Robben has been probably one of the most underrated footballers in the World for close to a decade now. His trickery, hard work, dedication and blistering pace is what makes him one of the most dangerous players in the World.

He has won everything available in the game apart from the World Cup which has evaded the Netherlands twice in the last two World Cups. They came second in South Africa 2010 and third in Brazil 2014. He has been nominated several times for FIFA Ballon d’Or but has not quite got there. He is an amazing player to watch and we might realize that when his career comes to an end in few years time.

 Robben career medals

  • Eredivise title
  • Premier League title x2
  • FA Cup
  • Football League Cup x2
  • La Liga title
  • Bundesliga title x 4
  • DFB- Pokal x 4
  • Champions League
  • UEFA Super Cup
  • World Club Cup

9.Alessandro Del Piero

Del Pierro

Del Piero as he is known to many was in his days a master of his art. Juventus was the stage and football was the dance. He danced through Serie A, Champions League and even World Cup in 2006. He is up there with the likes of Maldini, Canavaro, Baggio among others. What is quite surprising is that he never even came close to winning the Ballon d’Or which is a pity. He should have won it and we all know that.

“Here he is, he is different from Zidane, he likes to play, he feels it in his soul; between he and the French (Zinedine Zidane), I stay with him.” Diego Maradonna

8.Steven Gerrard


We all know what the Liverpool legend has achieved in his illustrious career at Anfield. Most notable being the 2005 Champions League trophy that went down in history as one of the greatest comebacks in the history of the game. He is not only a Reds Legend but also the Premier League and football in general. He played with his heart and was never shy to show his love for the club. When you look at the available records it is shocking that he did not get the chance to lift the award. The closest he came was in 2005 when he came third. Ronaldinho won it that year.

“He has become the most influential player in England, bar none. Not that Vieira lacks anything, but Gerrard does more.” – Sir Alex Ferguson

“For the job he performs, he is one of the greatest.” – Ronaldinho

 Gerrard trophies at Liverpool

  • FA Cup: 2001,2006
  • Football League Cup: 2001,2003,2012
  • FA Community Shield: 2006
  • UEFA Champions League: 2005
  • UEFA Cup: 2001
  • UEFA Super Cup: 2001,2005

7.Raul Gonzalez

Real Madrid v Valladolid - La Liga

Like Ryan Giggs, It is difficult to understand how Real Madrid legend Raul Gonzalez did not lay his hands on the FIFA Ballon d’Or. Up until now he still remains Los Blancos highest goal scorer with 323 goals. He scored 40 goals for Spain national team. He won the Champions League three times among other accolades. He surely wasn’t the most talented but his achievements deserved a major recognition.

“I want to wish the captain good luck because he has been a tower of strength for many people and for the team, and he’s been a person that a lot of people should look up to because he is very dedicated to what he does and what he believes in. Thank you to him and the rest of the team, and good luck throughout the rest of their careers” David Beckham

Raul medals at Real Madrid

  • Intercontinental Cup: 1998, 2002
  • UEFA Champions League: 1997–98, 1999–2000, 2001–02
  • UEFA Super Cup: 2002
  • La Liga: 1994–95, 1996–97, 2000–01, 2002–03, 2006–07, 2007–08
  • Supercopa de España: 1997, 2001, 2003, 2008

6.Peter Schmeichel


In 1963, Lev Yashin became the first and the only goalkeeper to win the coveted  Ballon d’Or award. No other shot stopper has won it to date. It’s a shame because former Manchester United keeper Peter Schmeichel deserved it too.

Fans around the World, will agree with me that he was without a doubt one of the most amazing shot stoppers in the modern game. He won a whooping 5 Premier League titles and that famous Champions League trophy in 1999. He was so impressive in goal that opponent players feared him. His trade mark reflex saves will forever remain in the memories of many people.

“I don’t believe a better goalkeeper played the game. He is a giant figure in the history of Manchester United” Sir Alex Ferguson.


Copyright © 2023