English Premier League is much more competitive compared to other European Leagues. One of the reasons why is because EPL is full of world-class strikers. In its 26 years history, Premier League has been graced by several prolific strikers. But the sad part of it is that only a few of them got the Golden Boot award. Today, we will take a look at the top 5 best Premier League strikers to have never won the Golden Boot award.

5. Fernando Torres

There was a time when Fernando Tores was one of the most hyped players in Europe.  At his prime, he was one of the best players of the world, grabbing the third place in the FIFA World Player of the Year Awards 2008. Torres became the first Liverpool player to score more than 20 league goals since Robbie Fowler in 1996. He holds the record for the fastest player to reach the 50 goals mark in Liverpool’s history. But no Golden Boot on his name.

4.Romelu Lukaku

Lukaku has established himself as one of the best strikers in Europe. The Belgium National team’s all-time top scorer has managed to score 15 or more goals in five of his six seasons in EPL  since 2012-13. One would expect a player like him to win the Golden Boot quite easily. But the surprising part of it is that Lukaku has never won the award.

3. Dennis Bergkamp

Every football fan probably remembers Dennis Bergkamp who played for Arsenal for 11 seasons. The player who scored the best goal of the Premier League era, according to some reports. Winning 3 league titles, 4 FA Cups with the Gunners in what was a very successful stint in the Premier League, Bergkamp had elegant touch and splendid technique. Unfortunately, the Gunners legend never won the Golden Boot award.

See Also:

YOUNG GOLD: 4 Youngsters from Premier League Nominated for 2018 Golden Boy Award

FRONT-RUNNERS: Top 5 Leading Goals Scorers in Premier League So Far

GOAL-MACHINES: FIVE All-time Top Scorers Of European Giants

THE UNMATCHED: 5 Premier League Records Held By Non-English Players