Premier League fans are always excited to see their stars breaking records and setting new ones. For instance, last season Mohamed Salah netted 32 goals in the League to break a longstanding record of 31 strikes in a season. Today, we want to take a look at another area of the game that receives very little attention. We focus on the problem of own goals in the history of the league. Who is the master of own goals?

5. Frank Sinclair- 6 Own goals

Chelsea and Leicester City legend Frank Sinclair also netted 6 own goals in his career. The former defender scored 3 for each club. He played 218 matches for the Blues in the 1990s scoring 13 goals. He also played 194 matches for the Foxes. Other players with six own goals include Phil Jagielka, Gareth McAuley and Ryan Showcross.

4. Rio Ferdinand and Wes Brown- 6 Own Goals

Manchester United legends Rio Ferdinand and Wes Brown take the 4th position on the list with 6 own goals each. The two defenders delivered a lot of titles for the club during their time at Old Trafford.

Rio goals come from his time at Leeds United and West Ham too before he switched to Old Trafford. He only scored two own goals for the Red Devils. Brown scored 3 own goals during his time at Old Trafford and 3 others when he joined Sunderland.

3. Martin Skrtel- 7 Own goals

Martin Skrtel is the second Liverpool legend on the list of own goals. The former defender did not entertain nonsense in the box. He was a great centre-back who was ready to put everything on the line to save his team. However, the Slovakian skipper left a bad record of 7 own goals at Anfield. Zatyiah Knight who played for Fulham and Bolton Wanderers also scored 7 own goals.

See Also:

YELLOW LEGENDS: Top 7 All-Time YELLOW Card Record holders in EPL…

THE G.O.A.T: Top 5 Records set by C. Ronaldo in 2017/18…

KINGS OF EUROPE: Top 5 Most Successful LEAGUES in Champions League-…