Football joy is certainly flowing towards Egypt like the mighty River Nile. This is because the North African nation did not only win the rights to host AFCON 2019 on Tuesday but also watched their son Mohamed Salah get crowned CAF African Player of the Year for the second year running. The Liverpool winger defeated his Premier League colleagues Sadio Mane and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang to clinch the award. Today, as we congratulate Mo Salah, we want to see which five countries have lifted most CAF African Player of the Year Awards in History.

5. Morocco-4 CAF Awards

Morocco has lifted CAF African Player of the Year award four times. This means the North Africans have actually won more continental awards than Egypt (3) and Algeria (3).

4. Nigeria- 5 CAF Awards

Nigeria footballers have lifted CAF African Player of the Year award five times. The most recent one was delivered by Nwankwo Kanu in 1999. This is the time the Super Eagles was flying for real.

3. Ghana- 6 CAF Awards

Ghana has actually done better than their noisy neighbours Nigeria in CAF Awards. The Black Stars have lifted 6 Player of the Year awards in history. The most recent was delivered by the legendary Abedi Pele in 1993. His sons Andre and Jordan Ayew will not even get close to his achievements.

See Also:

DRESSING ROOM HATE: Top 6 Worst Player-Coach Fights in Recent History

HARD BRAKES: Top 5 Best Defensive Midfielders in the World Today

EA- FIFA19 XI: Eleven Stars included in 2019 FIFA Team of…