The new 2018/19 Premier League season will kick off on 11th of August. All 20 clubs are currently in pre-season preparing for another football marathon set to end in May 2019. Manchester City lifted 2017/18 trophy after a record-breaking second season under Pep Guardiola. All other top six clubs are now scrambling to catch up this summer ahead of the new season. Today, we want to focus on all-time deadliest strikers in their first season in Premier League history.

5.Diego Costa- 20 goals

Jose Mourinho wanted to win the League again in his second spell with Chelsea. He wanted a striker capable of delivering the goals and he identified Diego Costa. He made Roman Abramovich pay £32 million for him. The combative forward took his place at Stamford Bridge and the challenge was on. He went on to score 20 goals in 26 appearances in the League. The mission was a success because they won the League and League Cup double. Antonio Conte mismanaged him and Atletico Madrid snatched him back.

4. Jurgen Klinsmann- 21 goals

Jurgen Klinsmann had two spells at Tottenham Hotspurs but the first one was the best. The London side signed the German international for £2 million from Ligue 1 side AS Monaco in 1994. He was not popular in England because he was in the team that eliminated Three Lions in 1994 World Cup. However, that did not bother him because he went on to score 30 goals in 50 appearances in all competitions. He netted 21 times in 41 Premier League appearances. Bayern Munich signed him immediately after and he had two great years there. He returned at White Hart Lane in 1997/98 season, scored 9 more goals in 18 matches and then retired.

3. Sergio Aguero- 23 goals

Manchester City needed a top striker to compete in English Premier League. Sergio Aguero was the man they identified and paid €45 million to sign him. The Argentine is a natural goals scorer and he did not need any introduction in that sector. The Argentine scored 30 goals in 48 appearances in all competitions, 23 of them coming in Premier League alone. City won the League that year and it was decided by the goal difference. He scored the goal that decided the title. Sorry, Manchester United fans for reminding you about this day.

See Also:

CUPS TABLE: Top 6 Premier League Clubs based on EPL Trophies-Vs-Spending…

LIMPING TEAMS: Top 6 EPL Clubs with Highest INJURY COSTS in…

SHARP SHOOTERS: Top 5 All-Time Best Penalty Takers in Premier League

AO MELHOR: Top 5 All-Time Best Brazilians Who Played for Barcelona