WHAT FOR: Top 5 Most MEANINGLESS Football awards in the last 10 Years

WHAT FOR: Top 5 Most MEANINGLESS Football awards in the last 10 Years

Football awards are important to a career of every footballer. They boost the confidence of players giving them much needed impetus to do even better. Today, we want to look at national awards that have in one way or another lost their importance. This is because a single player has dominated for so long. Lack of talent in the national team is also another reason.

Let us take a look; Gareth Bale- Wales

5. Gareth Bale- Wales (Winner- 6 Times)


Gareth Bale is by far the best Welsh Player. Nobody can dispute that or even challenge him. Real Madrid signed him from Tottenham Hotspurs for a World record fee before Paul Pogba broke it last summer.

The winger has won Wales Player of the Year award for a record six times. The only other player who could challenge him to the crown was Stoke midfielder Joe Allen in 2012. Bale won it in 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016. In 2017, the Wales FA tried to save the award by giving it to Chris Gunter but the damage is already done. Why the noise, just give him the award until he retires.

See Also YOUNG POWER: Top 5 YOUNGEST English Players ever to play in Champions League KNOCKOUT Stage

4. Petr Cech- Czech (Winner- 9 Times)



Czech Republic number one goalkeeper Petr Cech has now lifted the Best Player award a record 11 times. Many football fans will certainly not even mention any other player from the European country. He won this year award this week, he also won it in 2005, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, and 2016.

The award has lost its meaning in the country. The only player who tried to challenge Arsenal goalie is Tomas Rosicky (2006), Marek Jankulovski (2007) and David Lafata (2014). The award should now be renamed Petr Cech Football award.

3. Cristiano Ronaldo-Portugal (Winner 9 Times)

Like Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo has been dominant in every sense. The only person who has been marching him in all areas is the Barcelona number 10. The Portuguese have lifted five World Player of the Year awards.

The problem is not in the continental awards but national recognition. The former Manchester United winger has lifted Portugal Player of the Year almost every year since he started shining. The award has lost its meaning in the country. CR7 won it in 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016 and 2017. There is no doubt he will win it again in 2018. They should just give it to him to keep until he retires, it is pointless. The only other players who tried to challenge him are Simao (2010) and Pepe (2014).

See Also ASSIST GURU: Top 5 Stars with Most Assists in 2017/18 UEFA Champions League so far

Page 1 of 2Next
Written by