SPECIAL FIVE: Top 5 European Golden Boot WINNERS from Premier League since 1967–68

SPECIAL FIVE: Top 5 European Golden Boot WINNERS from Premier League since 1967–68

Lionel Messi scored 37 goals to lift 2016/17 European Golden Boot award. The Argentine has now won the coveted award four times same as his bitter rival Cristiano Ronaldo. The Premier League has not seen a lot of success in this category in recent years. However, the English League has produced five winners since the award was first introduced in 1967–68 season.

5. Ian Rush- 32 goals (1983–84)

The first player to lift European Golden Boot in the history of the English League is Ian Rush. The Liverpool legend scored 32 goals in the old First Division (Premier League) in the year 1983–84. Luis Suarez became only the second player in the history of the club to do so.

See Also NEW RULERS: Top 7 new Stars set to TAKE OVER from Messi & CR7

4. Kevin Phillips- 30 goals (1999–2000)

Kevin Phillips is the only English player in history ever to lift the coveted European Golden Boot. The former Sunderland striker did it in 1999–2000 season. He netted 30 goals to earn himself 60 points. He lifted the award in a time when everybody expected Premier League, FA Cup and UEFA Champions League winners Manchester United to produce the winner. He also lifted the League Golden Boot.

3. Cristiano Ronaldo- 31 goals (2007–08)

Manchester United fans will certainly never forget the year 2007/08 for various reasons. The most obvious one is the fact that it is the last time their club lifted UEFA Champions League crown. It is also the year their former star Cristiano Ronaldo lifted both European Golden Boot as well as Ballon d’Or award. He netted 31 goals to emerge top in Europe with 62 points.

See Also MONEY WASTED: Top 7 Forwards Premier League Clubs REGRET Signing

Page 1 of 2Next
Written by