Top 5 Countries that has WON FIFA Confederations Cup

Top 5 Countries that has WON FIFA Confederations Cup

FIFA Confederations Cup kicked off on Saturday, in Russia. The hosts thrashed New Zealand 2-0 in the opening match. The tournament brings together World Cup defending champions and winners of all continental crowns. They include Champions from UEFA, CONMEBOL, CONCACAF, CAF, AFC, and OFC. The total number of teams becomes eight if you add the hosts.

Brazil hosted and won the last tournament. The Samba Boys will not be able to defend their title because they did not win the South America crown. The World Champion Germany will fight it out with European Champion Portugal. Others include African champion Cameroon, Mexico from North & Central America, Chile the Copa America winners and of course the hosts Russia among others.

Today, we want to take a look at all the winners since 1992 when the tournament was started;

5. Denmark-1 trophy

The tournament was started off in Saudi Arabia in honor of King Fahd. The trophy was therefore known as King Fahd Cup. FIFA later took over the competition in 1997. The second edition 1995 was won by European side Denmark.

4. Mexico- 1 trophy

In 1999, Mexico hosted and won the tournament. It remains the only success they have seen in the competition. They played bitter rivals Brazil in the final winning 4-3. The United States once again finished 3rd and Saudi Arabia took the fourth spot.

3. Argentina- 1 trophy

South America giant won the inaugural tournament in Saudi Arabia. In 1992 final, the Argentine played the hosts in the final and won 3-1. The United States took the 3rd place and African Champions Ivory Coast took the fourth place.

2. France- 2 trophies

France is the only European side that has won the Confederation Cup twice. They lifted it in 2001 and 2003 before the tournament changed its duration from two to four years. The French defeated the co-hosts Japan 1-0.

In 2003, the European giant thrashed African Champions Cameroon 1-0 in France. Turkey managed to take the third place while South America side Columbia was 4th.

1. Brazil- 4 trophies

Brazil is the most successful team in the World Cup history. They have lifted the most coveted football trophy five times. The South American giant is also dominant when it comes to the Confederation Cup. The Samba Boys has won it four times. They were victors in 1997, 2005, 2009 and 2013.

In 1997, they demolished Australia 6-0 in Saudi Arabia. In 2005 in Germany, Argentina was on the receiving end, they suffered a 4-1 hammering. In the first-ever World Cup in Africa, Brazil confused the USA with a 3-2 victory in the final. The last tournament was held at home and they had an easy day against Spain. They destroyed defending World Champions 3-0 in front of a capacity crowd at the iconic Maracana Stadium.

Written by