Top 8 Greatest Footballers Who Never Won Champions League

Top 8 Greatest Footballers Who Never Won Champions League

Considered to be one of the greatest sporting spectacles on the planet, it pits the creme de la creme of Europe’s finest.

Aside from the potential grudge matches, the Champions League brings together the finest players in Europe to deliver a feast of football.

We have also been witness to a number of different exciting Champions League games.

But sadly some one of the greatest players ever seen in football never won the Champions League trophy;


The prolific Dutchman holds an unwanted record ; no one has hit as many goals in the UEFA Champions League (56 in 73 outings) without securing the trophy.

Ruud Van Nistelrooy is another name among the footballing greats. He remains one of the highest scorers in the history of the Champions League even though he has never attained the trophy.

Despite achieving league titles in Spain not to mention in England, Van Nistelrooy only reached the semi-finals of the competition.

7.Fabio Cannavaro

Awarded the Ballon d’Or after attaining his international pinnacle at the 2006 World Cup, he never progressed further than the last four in the UEFA Champions League.

One of the finest Italian defenders of all time  surprisingly couldn’t attach Champions League on his array of medals.

6.Patrick Vieira

A key figure in transforming Arsenal’s fortunes under Arsène Wenger, the 1998 World Cup and UEFA EURO 2000 winner never advanced further than the quarter-finals.

The French player has never been replaced since and lent a great amount of steel to the Gunners midfield; unfortunately did not manage to win the Champions League during his successful career.

 5.Michael Ballack

The ex-Germany captain, who lost two finals in the most unfortunate of circumstances.

The German international had an impressive playing career playing for the likes of Bayern Munich as well as Chelsea.

The first was when he was playing for Bayer Leverkusen in 2002. Whilst he also lost with Chelsea in 2008 to Manchester United on penalties.

4.Zlatan Ibrahimović

Zlatan Ibrahimovic is the only player who has won domestic title with 6 different teams (Ajax, Juventus, Inter, Barcelona, Milan, PSG).

Yet the trophy remains elusive for Ibrahimovic whose PSG club were convincingly beaten by Barcelona in the 2015 quarter finals. Painfully for Ibra, he left Inter right before the very season they won the Champions League, and a Treble to boot.

He played in the Champions League with all these teams but he couldn’t reach semi-finals of this prestigious competition.


One of the greatest football players of all time and World Cup winner Ronaldo.

Known as The Phenomenon’, Ronaldo was deadly with a football. One of the finest strikers of our time, Ronaldo did not pick up the Champions League despite a stellar career.

The two-time Ballon d’Or winner revealed his only regret after retiring, saying: “I live football with a passion that doesn’t give me any peace for not winning the Champions League – it’s a trophy everyone would love to win.”


2.Gianluigi Buffon

Arguably one of the world’s best goalkeepers today despite his age.

Buffon has won the FIFA World Cup with Italy, the UEFA Cup with Parma FC and several Serie A titles with Juventus, but the UEFA Champions League has proved elusive – so far.

Italian legend won many awards and competitions in his career but he never got his hands on the Champions League trophy.


Without question, this little man gets the nod, being widely regarded as at least one of the top three greatest players of all time.

Nevertheless, it turns out that Diego Maradona did not win the Champions League either.

The former Napoli player only managed to play in a couple of games.



Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Written by
I am a typical female who likes sports particularly football.